Coping With Change- The Healthy Way

Standard

Image

Mo here and I would like to discuss the dirty C word…CHANGE. I have been experiencing some major changes in many areas of my life at the moment. I am the first person to say that change is quite difficult for me. I normally try to avoid change at any cost but I have often found that the more I resist, the more painful it is. There is unplanned and planned change. I am a type A planner to the core. I have even been known to try and plan being spontaneous. Lately I have found that I can only focus on today and the challenges that lay ahead of me. So here is what I have been doing to work on dealing with the changes in my life:

1. Sleep: do your best to regulate your sleep. I try to go to bed at the same time and wake up at the same time every day. Our bodies actually need a sleep schedule. If you are having a hard time sleeping try drinking something that will help you calm you. I try to have some chamomile tea or a Bob Marley Mellow Mood. Marley’s Mellow mood is super tasty and has made me have a long nap in the middle of the day before. Mel also recommends Valerian Root which can be found in Marley’s Mellow Mood.

2. Eat Healthy: I know it is shocking that Sister Act Fitness would recommend eating healthy but you are what you eat. When I am stressed I have been known to visit some drive thrus and possibly be found eating in bed while watching Dance Academy. Yikes! (If you don’t know what Dance Academy is then you are missing out. It is a show for 16 year old ballerinas so naturally I am embarrassingly in love with it. ) Try to get all your nutrients in and drink tons of water. You may be tempted to eat crappy but it will only make you feel worse.

3. Ask For Help: Sometimes you need to yell and scream for help and the real people in your life will come running. I am extremely grateful for the people in my life that have been there for me to lean on. I learn that friends have so many different ways of helping in times of change and it is important to slow down and ask for the things you need. Take my sister for example, who is currently channeling some Italian mother,  as she is busy creating a paleo inspired pizza for me as I write this.  There are the friends who will listen to you for hours or the ones who take you on fun adventures to distract you. Whatever works for you, you need to have people in your life who support you. One day when your feet are back on the ground and your head is clear, you will be called for other’s to lean on.

Image

4. Look for Moments of Joy: One of my co-workers decided we should spin in our office chairs this afternoon and called it a joy moment. I had a big smile and my face and thought that she made a very good point. Another joy moment for me today was my sister dragging my ass to the gym and noticing my hard earned muscles have not disappeared in the last couple of weeks. Try your best to see the things in your life you can be grateful for. We all have them, even in moments of uncertainty.

5. Listen to Your Body: If your body needs a bit of extra rest, take it. If your body is craving exercise, meet up with a friend and hit the gym. Be kind to your body. In times of change and uncertainty it is not uncommon to be exhausted. Do not beat yourself up and learn to be gentle. In my work I teach Non Violent Communication and it is focused on gentleness and compassion. It is often easier to be gentle and compassionate with others but remember that we need to be kind to ourselves too. Listen to yourself, you ultimately know what you need.

6. Put Your Feet on the Ground: Often when I am experiencing a lot of change, I have a great deal of anxiety. A simple technique for alleviating anxiety is to place both your feet back on the ground and press your toes into the earth. It is important to come back into your body and out of your head. Remember that our bodies cannot tell the difference between what our minds are creating and what we are actually experiencing. If your head is creating disaster thoughts then your body will respond accordingly. Deep breaths…

What are your tips on embracing and dealing with change? We want to hear from you!

Follow us on Facebook: Sister Act Fitness

Instagram sisteractfitness.

Twitter: @sisteractfit

Thanks for reading!

Mo xoxoxo

 

Leave a Reply

