H.I.I.T. and me

Standard

Image

H.I.I. WHAT?

I introduce you to high intensity interval training – my arch nemesis of work outs that produces ridiculous results – fast.

So I’ll be honest, I have never completed a workout regime. I get a week or ten days into something and get bored, or I start seeing results then I self-sabotage (that will be a whole other post) My sister on the other hand finished Jamie Eason’s 90 day Live Fit Trainer (http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/jamie-eason-livefit-trainer.html) something I dabbled it but could never commit to doing it start to finish. Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t like being a quitter, in fact I don’t like it so much that I’m determined to break this habit. I have been a fan of bodyrock.tv for years, their short but sweet workouts have always given me good results. The best part is they are usually short enough that I only drop the F bomb 5 or 6 times instead of my regular 13 times in a normal 45 minute workout. What’s even better is knowing you are done your workout in 20 minutes so you can push really hard and know that the end of it is very near. 

So – enter my first Bodyrock.tv BOOT CAMP! (Seen here http://www.bodyrock.tv/ ) It’s 21 days of ass kicking workouts and I am loving it. Well, loving it may not be the word, enjoying it? Hmmmm…. I’m tolerating it and I’m feeling great. I started on Monday with a arms and abs workout and I killed it. I actually did the workout after work and seemed to have a really good energy level during my workout – maybe my preworkout snack of red pepper and olive tapenade was the key? I doubt it.

Yesterday I could already feel the benefits of these style of workouts as my metabolism was revved right up, which I knew because I was hungry all day. I literally had to eat my lunch and afternoon snack in one sitting just to get my stomach to shut up for a couple hours – I love it! The key is though I had to constantly fuel with good, healthy foods or I will just be throwing the benefits of these amazing work outs out the window. Yesterday was Day 2 and it was legs, and it was long and it was hard. I’m sure my boyfriend heard me drop approximately 18 F bombs during the 35 minute workout (yes I’m aware that averages 1 bomb every two minutes – shut up). After that workout I was starving – we made lamb sausages, scrambled eggs with red and yellow pepper and cucumber and tomatoes on the side. We also baked up some Otimo Brazillian Style Cheese Puffs – these thing are the bomb – check them out here http://otimo.ca/ – And I’m not going to lie I put a bit of unsalted butter on each of the 5 little puffs that I ate. Mmmmmmmm

Anyways back to the work outs – today was Day 3 – and to be honest I have no idea which specific muscle groups we worked cause it seemed like everything! Chest, back, arms, abs, cardio – this workout was shorter and I was thankful for it cause my butt is pretty sore from yesterday. Again today I’ve been fairly hungry all day long. After my workout this morning I cooked some extra lean ground beef with cayenne pepper, cumin and salt then mixed in a tiny bit of rice pasta and green olives – so yummy and luckily I cooked enough to have leftovers to take with me to eat after the dentist. After I ate I rushed to the dentist (40 minutes later) and I was already getting hungry again (proof I clearly should have eaten that extra amount I packed for leftovers) – of course my dentist (not knowing I was bordering on hangry) started talking about him being in Vegas and how they went for greek food, then to this omelette house and I can’t tell him to shut the hell up because his hands are in my mouth and I’m starving and I now hate the dentist even more.

So to sum up this boot camp challenge so far – LOVE IT! To be honest we have been so busy lately and even busier coming up its really nice to only have to worry about a 20-40 minute workout – not my usual 60 min plus.

I will keep you posted how the rest of the week goes – I can already see that tomorrow’s workout is H.I.I.T Core and I’m scared but it has to be done because it’s only 21 days and I’ve slayed 3 of them – I’ve got this!

Like us on Facebook – Sister Act Fitness

Follow us on Twitter – @sisteractfit

Follow us on Instagram @sisteractfitness

Follow our blog via email at the link below on your right  

 

xoxo Mel

Leave a Reply

