My Staycation- Having Gratitude For My Body

Standard

Image

 

Good morning everyone! I had this week off work and it has been fantastic. I started my week with watching this wonderful video from Amy Poehler on Body Image http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iOWqSPJZtmA. In the video she talks about having gratitude for your body and the things that it does for you. Have you ever struggled with your body image? I am sure we all have but this video has some great tips. After being inspired by that video, I decided to make gratitude the theme of my staycation week. I can be very hard on my body and tend to expect a lot from it. Over the years, through experiencing a lot of knee injuries, I am learning to be more gentle with myself. So here is a little post on how I have incorporated gratitude for my body during my week off.

Monday:

My back has been a bit of a mess lately. When I was in my early 20’s my friend and I got rear ended and my back has been messed up ever since. So I decided that I would give back to my body by addressing this pain. I hit the gym in the morning and then went to the chiropractor. I finished my day with an amazing facial at Spa Utopia. I received a gift card from a loved one awhile ago and this was the perfect time to use it. Spa Utopia is heaven for adults. I spent awhile in the steam room, snacked on dried fruits, drank cucumber water and received an amazing facial with a foot massage. I highly recommend going there if you need to relax. Make sure you go early to use the amenities and escape from your cell phone for awhile.

Tuesday:

Our sister Katie came out to visit and we hit the Fort to Fort trail in Fort Langley. It was a gorgeous day to be outside. During the afternoon I went to massage therapy with Murray Schwabe. He is amazing! If you need a great massage therapist he comes highly recommended by Sister Act Fitness. http://www.glovermassagetherapy.ca/ During the evening Katie and I went for an intense paddling practice and took in the beautiful sunset.

Wednesday:

A met up with my girlfriend and headed to Vancouver for her maternity photo shoot. The images are going to be breath taking! Check out Karolina Turek if you want an amazing photographer. I took the day off working out and gave gratitude to my body by doing some gentle stretching for my back and legs.

Thursday:

Saw the chiropractor again this morning. I am determined to get my back in shape and feeling strong before I head back to work. In the afternoon I gave my body some serious rest time. I threw on American Hustle and relaxed. You’re welcome, body… The evening was spent in the rain at paddling practice. It was still a great night.

Friday:

Woke up and hit the gym for a solid legs workout. My knee rehab is coming along nicely and I am still lifting light weights but here was my workout today:

Lunges 3 sets- 10 reps (20 pounds 😦  )

Calf raises-3 sets- 20 reps (70 pounds)

Hamstring press- 3 sets- 20 reps (55 pounds)

Leg press- 3 sets- 10 reps (90 pounds)

One leg deadlifts- 3 sets- 15 reps (20 pounds)

20 minutes on the stationary bike and I did some ab work as well.

Mel and I are hitting Nature’s Fare this morning to stock up on our favourite healthy food and snacks. I have a lot more gratitude planned this weekend such as  a walk on the beach with a friend’s dog, chiropractor, healthy food prep and more paddling.  How do you show gratitude to your body for doing the work it does for you? We want to hear your suggestions.

Mo xo

Follow us on Facebook: Sister Act Fitness

Instagram: sisteractfitness

Leave a Reply

