I’m Back… Running

Standard

I have officially been cleared to be running again and I am so excited! I recently went for a jog on my treadmill in my garage and did some interval training. I haven’t run since August because of tearing my meniscus and my cardio has gotten fairly terrible. So I hopped on the treadmill last Friday and ran at a decent pace for 8 minutes and then did 30 toe touchers and 30 crunches and would get back on the treadmill. I ended up running for around 35 minutes and I felt great. My knee didn’t even hurt at all!

As a continuation onto Mel’s post about getting outside of your comfort zone, I managed to go for a 6 hour hike on Monday. I love the outdoors and being with nature but I was pretty nervous about this hike. As previously noted, my cardio is not in peak form and the thought of 6 hours was pretty daunting but I pushed myself to go anyways. The views were spectacular from the view points on the hike and I had a lot of fun. My knee did really well and I experienced zero pain. I was pretty slow going up and down the hills but the point was that I finished it and definitely want to do more hiking this summer.

Last night we had gorgeous weather so I arrived at paddling early to go for a run. It was my first trail run in a very long time and I was totally in the zone. Unfortunately, being in the zone led me to almost having a heart attack from almost stepping on two snakes! Yuck! I hate snakes because the are slimy and they move so bloody fast. I may have screamed at the top of my lungs and then felt really embarrassed. Thankfully it was quiet on the trail and I don’t think any of the bunnies I saw will be gossiping about what a baby I am. Anyways, I ran for about 25 minutes and then went to paddling practice. Out on the water we saw two beavers and a couple seals. It was a gorgeous night.

What are your plans this summer to get outside of your comfort zone? Mel and I are here to encourage you to try new things with your fitness and not to be afraid to stretch yourself. Always make sure you work out within you abilities and be gentle with your body. My knee is only doing well because I put the time in at the gym doing my rehab and making sure to rest.

Thanks for reading!
Mo xoxoxo

Follow us on Instagram: Sisteractfitness
Like us on Facebook: Sister Act Fitnessrun

paddle

Leave a Reply

