Feature: Guest Post from our friend Beth

Standard

Restarting Again- My Yo-Yo Fitness Journey

Mel and Mo have really inspired me to kick up my fitness and healthy eating again since they started their blog. I thought it was time to share my story. 

A little background about me first is probably the best place to start. My name is Beth and I have been pretty athletic and active all my life. Growing up I was always on several sports teams and had an active job in high school for Parks and Rec, running programs and instructing Swimming/Skating and Gymnastics. I never worried about what I was consuming back then, and I wish now I had started my healthy habits early. I was not over weight back then but I was definitely not eating well, and was always over eating.

When I started university in September 2002 I was still playing sports, but now working more and commuting further for school. I found I was eating take out daily and drinking alcohol and my weight went up almost 40lbs in 2 years. I was very depressed about it, and I found I had some personally destructive behaviour because of it.

In the fall of 2004 I was recruited to go to Finland to play Ringette in their national women’s league. I went over weighting almost 160lbs on my 5’4” frame, spent the year training hard and learning. My diet changed while I was there and my mental drive as well. I use to be ok with how I was, but I decided I would come back changed. I wanted my team mates back home to notice an improvement in my playing. I would show up to all on and off ice times and push myself. I would line myself up in practice to go against our top players, and push hard to not lose.  I came home from Finland weighing 128lbs and in the best physical shape I had ever been in.

In 2010 my best friend and co-worker who I car pooled with to work, and saw almost 12 hours a day, was pregnant. My eating habits and lack of exercise caught up with me again, and my weight jumped to 147-150lbs. Again this really depressed me and I decided that it was me who was in control of this and I committed to eating healthier and working out more. In August 2010 I joined the gym at my work and committed to 2 early mornings a week, and 1 lunch workout. I found that after only a few weeks I was at the gym 5-6 days a week and loving it. By September 2011 I was 130-132lbs fit and toned and happy again.

This is why I’m calling my story the YoYo, cause in September 2011 I tore my ACL and waited until March 2012 to have it repaired. I managed to keep my weight down during this time by continuing to be active and eat well. In June 2012 we found out we were expecting our first child due in Feb 2013. During my pregnancy I gained 60 lbs, and it really made me feel like I had somehow failed, because I was unable to stay active and at a “healthy” weight for my pregnancy.

My son is now 15 months old and I am at my pre-pregnancy weight of 138 lbs, but I am not at my pre-pregnancy “shape”. My new goal is to again, starting eating more health “whole” foods, not over eating, exercising regularly and being more self-positive with my thoughts. I am hoping to have and update in 3 months of a healthier, happier me.
photo 1

photo 2 (1)

Leave a Reply

