Big Goals and Big Plans

Standard

So back in the day I was a lean mean food prep machine (emphasis on the lean part), however, winter kicked my ass this year and has left me unable to fit into my jeans and uncomfortable in my own skin. What should I do? Wallow in self pity? CHECK! Stand in the mirror squeezing my belly while swearing? CHECK – Now that I got that ridiculous crap out of the way it’s time to correct my mistakes

Step #1 – PLAN! What’s that saying? “Failing to plan is planning to fail” (something like that) So I’ve planned my meals (all of them) for the next two days – pretty simple since I’m going to eat the exact same thing two days in a row since I’ll be at work and then Wednesday I can re-evaluate. Part of the plan is also planning my workouts and the week looks like this:

Monday (tomorrow) – Empty stomach cardio 6am on the spin bike and abs – 30 minutes

Tuesday – Empty stomach cardio same as Monday (I unfortunately have plans both Monday and Tuesday night so I gotta get my exercise done in the morning)

Wednesday – Legs and abs (odd combo I know but it’s the way the cookie crumbles this week, I am now regretting mentioning cookies)

Thursday – Clutch cut workout 3 rounds – http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/ashley-conrad-21-day-clutch-cut-day-1.html

Friday – Rest (going for massage therapy Thursday night and at the age of 30 a girl needs to relax once in a while)

Saturday – Clutch cut workout 4 rounds

 

Step #2 COOK! Here’s a picture of what I prepped – it looks like a lot in the picture but I for see this being gone in 3 days (there’s two of us eating and we both work out) Image 

Incase these items look foreign to you here’s a run down – raw veggies! red pepper, cucumber, grape tomatoes, carrots. Steamed broccoli and steamed asparagus. BBQ’d chicken breast (with a bit of montreal steak spice, garlic powder, and onion powder). Hard boiled eggs and two roasted sweet potatoes (the potatoes are for my weight lifting days). For the potatoes all I did was stab them with a fork (this was slightly exhilarating) and baked them for an hour in the oven at 450 degrees (easy as pie, shit, now I want pie)

I know what you’re thinking – All that food looks so good but how does it translate into meals?

Here’s the transformation:

Image

This is how my food break down will go tomorrow and Tuesday

Breakfast – two eggs and 3/4 cup of egg whites, sauteed in coconut oil with some pre-steamed broccoli, topped with salsa. On the side a smoothie made with a 1/2 cup blueberries, squeeze of lemon – to get the iron benefits from the 2 cups of baby spinach, one scoop of Enerex Greens.

Snack – 1 oz (I meant to have more but had to share and had to sample and that left literally nothing for tomorrow) beef jerky with cucumbers and carrots

Lunch – 6 oz bbq’d chicken breast on herbed salad with 3 olives, a couple of marinated artichoke pieces, 4 sundried tomatoes and a half of a red pepper. Topped up one tablespoon of extra virgin olives oil and a half tablespoon of balsamic drizzle.

Snack – 2 slices of Maple Leaf’s Natural Selections Oven Roasted Turkey Breast Slices, half a can of tuna mixed with a bit of salt/pepper and some salsa and a half of a red pepper to scoop up the tuna with

Dinner (have to pack dinner cause I have a meeting after work and “picking up” dinner is not an option) 4.5 oz of bbq’d chicken, a cup of steamed asparagus and two more slices of turkey breast. 

Total calories 1450 – Honestly when I first put all this food together it was only 1100 calories  (that’s why I’m eating a friggin cup of egg whites and you see those random turkey slices stuck into meals)- my current goal is to eat about 1600 calories a day cause contrary to my inability to fit into my jeans there’s a fair bit of muscle on me and eating anything less than 1400 calories a day will set me back in my quest to restore my adrenal/hormonal balance.

Want to see what the bf’s food looks like cause it’s much tastier?

Image

Breakfast – is a bounce ball and an apple

Snack – Turkey slices, a bit of organic raw cheddar cheese, two pieces of salami (have I told you he’s Italian), a pickle and some cucumber

Lunch – A salad with 7 oz of chicken, a hard boiled egg, tomatoes, olives and artichokes – he gets goddess dressing with his salad (I’m jealous)

Post Workout Snack – 1/2 of a sweet potato with a bit of montreal steak spice, some raw cheddar, steam broccoli and beef jerky

Dinner – no idea but I will probably be jealous of it, there’s rumours of sushi with the boys (jerks) 

 

Some strict crap that I will be abiding by:

No nuts! I have a problem with nuts – I love them, if they are roasted I love them more and I can’t stop eating them and then I feel like garbage so no nuts!

No grains – I’ll admit I dabble in the rice and gladly tasted a chocolate croissant and a couple of adorable mini sandwiches at the baby showers I was at today – not only am I bloated but I am in pain, not worth it and definitely does not help me reach my goals

Less salt – this is a toughy for me cause let’s face it, healthy food doesn’t always taste as good as it makes you feel

No cheese – man if I had a nickel for every time I’ve written that in a post 

Now that I’ve gotten all the NO NO’s out of the way the stuff I will be incorporating

1600-1800 calories – those clutch cut workouts are a bastard and if I undereat I will feel the affects drastically

Exercise 6 days a week – mixing it up – lifting weights a few times, cardio a few times and intervals when possible 

More veggies

Also something that I am vowing to put back into my routine that I sadly forgot about is starting every morning with a glass of hot water with a half of a squeezed lemon – this little trick kicks ass, kick starts your metabolism, flushes toxins – here’s a great article about it – DO IT! http://tasty-yummies.com/2013/03/18/10-benefits-to-drinking-warm-lemon-water-every-morning/

 

Anyways I will try my best to keep you updated as the week goes on – My goal (and since I’m putting it on the internet I better stick to it) is to lose 8 pounds by the time we hit the track Friday June 20th for the Relay for Life. That will put me about to what I weighed last year when we did the Relay. 8 pounds in a month is a very lofty goal but if I come up shy at 5 pounds I’ll still be happy 🙂

If you have any helpful tips for me I would love to hear them or if you have any food ideas or meal prep ideas I can steal please post them below or post them to our facebook page (Sister Act Fitness)

As always thanks for the love,

XOXO

Mel

 

 

5 thoughts on “Big Goals and Big Plans

  1. THANK YOU for sharing!! My hubby and I are on a new journey, we have been eating much much healthier for the past two years, but we are just now jumping on the meal prep wagon. We HAVE to since we have an 8 month old and balancing work, school, gym and baby seems impossible lately at least feeding ourselves does!

    • The no grains is because I’ve read a lot of research (in the paleo department) that grains cause inflammation, however, I know people who tolerate then well. I don’t. The nuts are because I overeat them, badly and then have digestion issues. I would eat a small amount if I could but I know I’ll overdo it 🙂 keep us posted on how you and your husband do on your food prep – we wish you well

Leave a Reply

