Fitting in Fitness

Standard

hiking1Good Morning Everyone!

I hope everyone had a wonderful weekend. We had such beautiful weather here in the Lower Mainland and I spent the weekend enjoying every minute of the sunshine. I find as summer starts to bring it’s sunshine, it can be harder to actually make formal workout plans. So does that mean we slack and get lazy with our fitness goals? NO!! We have to adjust them to take advantage of the amazing weather. So here is how I fit in my workouts this weekend.

Friday:

I like to workout in the morning so it consisted of the following:
30 squats
30 lunges (each leg)
30 sumo squats
30 bridges

I did these exercises consecutively with a 2 minute break between sets. I repeated these 3 times.

Friday dinner in downtown Vancouver involved parking as far away as possible and walking in heels. If you are a girl then you know that walking in heels for 30 minutes straight is equivalent to running a half marathon. My feet hurt and my calves were sore. I earned every ounce of my steak at the Keg, especially after walking across the Cambie street bridge in a dress, doing my best to avoid a Marilyn Manroe dress blowing up incident. There may have been a bit of a flash…you are welcome people of Vancouver.

Saturday:

Despite finally falling asleep at 2 am after stomping around Vancouver in heels, I woke up at 6 and started getting ready to go hiking. I picked up a few friends and we headed out to Mt. Thom. After getting lost for awhile we finally made it to the trailhead. This was a beautiful hike and it took us approximately 50 minutes up and 50 minutes down. My uphill is better than my downhill because of my knee. We were rewarded with some pretty amazing views. hiking

Saturday afternoon was spent with Mel at our Relay For Life Fundraiser for the Canadian Cancer Society. Our team raised $3100 toward our goal of $10000. I spent the entire night on my feet selling 50/50 and being a referee for the toonie toss. I may have even done a bit of dancing. So this all had to burn a few calories. Right? 😉

Sunday:

Up early to hit the water for paddling practice. I hit the grocery store before paddling because I had a busy day planned and wanted to have some healthy snacks for the beach. Paddling practice ended up being 3 hours on the water. Needless to say I was very HANGRY by the time the boat was finally put away. It was a wonderful way to start the morning.
paddle boarding

The rest of the afternoon was spent paddle boarding on the ocean, playing bocce and throwing a football.
Here is what was in my cooler for the beach:
– A lot of water
– Turkey peperoni bites
– cut up pineapple, cantaloupe, and fresh berries
– Rice cakes ( I was feeding more people than just myself)

Here is what I forgot to pack:
– Sunscreen (needless to say my scalp, arms, stomach are a little pink)

There are so many wonderful ways of being active that do not require being in the gym for hours on end. Although Mel and I love hitting the gym, we also enjoy doing a variety of activities outside that keep us fit. What is your favourite way to stay active and healthy during this time of year?

Leave a Reply

