Getting Your Ass Out There and Trying Something New – Guest Post from our friend Alishia

Standard

The act of getting your ass out there and trying something new and perhaps embarrass yourself a bit!

Two weeks ago I did something I haven’t done in YEARS…. I hit the gym. It started with moving back to BC from Alberta and being inspired to take advantage of the weather here, compared to the 7 months of snow in Alberta. I wanted to get out there again like I used to, walks for hours, walking to the store, walking with my dogs, hiking and just being active outside.
So Canada Day, it was smoking hot and with this fresh inspiration to get back to being active, I joined the gym! Well days go by and I never stepped foot in the place… in the back of my head I knew… I had 10 days to back out. On the 10th day, I found my way to the gym… to cancel! Instead of cancelling though I forced myself to ask for a tour to inspire myself and to get my ass motivated, and I did just that.

I went to my new job and asked the other girls if they go to the gym, told them I haven’t been in years and wouldn’t know what to do. I was scared of failure and giving up for lack of knowledge of what to do in a big gym all alone. Then it happened… One girl said “I do classes or else I wouldn’t go and wouldn’t know what to do” PERFECT!!! There it was the golden ticket…A structure, a commitment, a dedicated time and place and a leader to tell me what to do! How much better could it get?!!!!

Soo…What classes? What kind? What can do? What would I like to do? What’s involved? How? In front of how many people??! Now for those who know I’m pretty outgoing and what not but sometimes not apparently.

Step one, grab a schedule! Step two, read the back with the description of each class, pick which ones interest me. Step three, which classes fit in my schedule (luckily there’s lots of times and days they repeat). So now I know what days and times work, and what I think I’d like. Huh. Ok…. And GO!

Monday: Day one, class one: Group Power. 60 mins of weights on a bar that works every section of your body hard for a song at a time. I show up jusssst on time for someone to have to help me set up as the class is STARTING! Talk about putting me on the spot light on being a newbie and late! How much weight? Am I gonna be able to do this? Ugh! The first quarter of the class is done and my knees are shaking under the weighted bar. I’m worried others are staring at me and thinking I’m not cut out for it like they are, am I really weaker than I thought? As the class goes on, I realized I was clearly just not warmed up (who woulda thunk ya have to warm up before doing 60 squats and lunges with weights in the first five minutes, for the first time in years!) I rocked the rest of the class feeling like a superstar! When it was over I was in complete disbelief that I accomplished a whole body workout in 60 minutes. I felt accomplished, motivated and energized, can’t wait to do it again RIGHT NOW!
So, I stayed for half an hour of ZUMBA! WOW! What a way to show myself I’m most likely the most uncoordinated chick on the face of the planet, and those girls in Zumba are NOT rookies! Here I was worried about the power weights class looking like a fool, this was clearly NOT my forte! They went left I went right, they jumped up on the third stride I jumped down… UGH… high paced and embarrassing! But I stayed. And as it went on and the moves repeated, I was less of the uncoordinated string puppet that I showed up as. PHEW!

Tuesday, I could barely walk! My new coworkers probably had enough of my whining by the end of the day! Muscle rub and an ice pack that night!

Wednesday, still sore, but I know I wanted to go again, keep the momentum up and feel inspired. BUT! Today was a new class… a WHOOOOLLLLLLEEEE new experience. A high cardio step dance type class. I randomly ask a lady outside class before it starts how hard the class is, it turns out she’s an instructor there… I got the “you can make it as hard as you want it or take it as easy as you need” blurb they all say, I swear. Class starts, and she’s in the back with me (where I’m hiding) and the instructor from my first class, who of course recognizes me. Then these two wonderful instructors, who I know were trying to help, point me out to the instructor of the class that YES I AM NEW and have NOT done this before. WOW! Now I have a spotlight on me for sure! Just what I wanted to be pointed out that I have no effing clue what I’m doing in a small hot smelly room with 15 women that act as if this is second nature… AWESOME! None the less I trek forward and didn’t rock a single move in time with the rest. I finish the class and the instructor came up and told me how amazing I did… yes she was blowing smoke up my ass but it was sweet of her, even though she promised she wasn’t lying haha. Again I stayed longer for 30mins of Zumba, still flailing around like an imbecile (but not as bad), but it is what it is and it was fun!

Lesson learned: Not every class suits every person, but giving each class a try, stepping outside your comfort zone, risking it all is worth learning what works best for you. I’ll be making this step cardio type class part of my routine, simply because I’m determined to master it (and at the same time it’s my cardio sessions of the week).

While writing this and reflecting something clicked… no one here is an enemy, everyone feels the same as I did (for the most part) and everyone wants the best for everyone else. This isn’t me against the class or me trying to prove myself to anyone but myself, it is a place where people come together in a secure place where they feel comfortable to show their weaknesses, try hard, and improve together, every time, each week.

Today was my first ever yoga class, met a girl who swore this wasn’t her thing before she tried it randomly like me. Of course the instructor remembered me from another class, said I was great last time, again I felt that sense of community and support. I didn’t know what I was doing, felt great, LOVED IT, walked out confident (and relaxed). Yoga was the perfect balance to two full weeks of weights and high energy cardio classes, and can’t wait to go back… This is going to be an addiction… a great one!

My gym class schedule is posted on my fridge and classes are outlined, I can’t stop talking about it at work, same classes, same days each week with the same ladies and instructors, each the highlight to every day!

I AM HOOKED!
– Alishia

Sister Act Fitness would like to thank Alishia for her contribution and insight on one way to get started at a new gym. When we asked Alishia what she loves about Sister Act Fitness her response was “Nothing, it sucks” which of course we laughed about since her sarcasm is the only reason we like her but her honest answer was “The tips and inspiration” – Thanks again Alishia, we look forward to an update on how those classes are going soon

xo
Mel and Mo

Leave a Reply

