How this Mommy lost her baby weight – the patient way :)

Standard

Below is an email sent to me from our friend Thea. I asked if she would mind if we shared it on the blog and thankfully she said yes 🙂

Hey Mel,

First off, LOVE your blog post about your weight loss journey! https://sisteractfitness.wordpress.com/2014/04/23/my-personal-health-transformation-what-a-doozy/ and https://sisteractfitness.wordpress.com/2014/05/10/maureens-personal-health-transformation/ I struggled with my weight after high school (same situation- started working at McDonalds, stopped playing sports & had no idea about fitness & healthy eating ) then made a decision to change and started running and doing research on healthy eating & lost 50 lbs, I decided I wasn’t going to be the type of person to yo yo and I have maintained a healthy lifestyle since (going on 9 plus years) then I got pregnant and became an anxious nervous pregnant person and decided that the only exercise I would do was walk, and light yoga…needless to say I gained 50 lbs during my pregnancy (7 lbs 2 oz Teala was my favorite weight that I gained!) I forgot how hard it is to lose weight healthily but I thought since it took me 10 months to gain it I will give myself a year to get back on track! Teala is 10 months old now and I am only a couple pounds away from my pre preggo weight!.

For the last 4 months I have been following bikinibodymommy.com. at home free workouts and it’s been an adjustment since I was use to running 25 km a week plus the gym so being at home and doing stairs/ skipping and such is funny and totally different, but it’s working!!

I started the BBM (bikini body mommy) 90 day challenge 1.0 on January 6 (http://bikinibodymommy.com/category/90-day-challenge/) I successfully completed that & did a 4 week mini series before starting the next 90 day BBM challenge 2.0. I just finished that this past weekend and I am proud to say that I never missed a single day of workouts & I have never felt as strong as I do now and I am back to my pre preggo weight (although my body is slightly different then before). The workouts were 6 days a week (m-s) and then rest on Sundays. I even went on several weekend getaways and a trip to Mexico during the challenges. In order for me to be successful I didn’t allow for any excuses to get in my way of me meeting my goals. And I know from before that you can only depend on yourself. It’s good to have support but in the end it’s just you and your choices.

Just because the challenges are over now doesn’t mean I’m stopping my workouts. For me exercise is apart of my daily life, and has been for the last decade. I think I will follow the challenge again and incorporate more running & yoga into the workouts.

A typical day of meals for me is as follows:

As soon as I wake up I drink a giant bottle of water. I love water & drink several bottles throughout the day.
(Mel from S.A.F. also drinks a glass of water on an empty stomach first thing in the morning, even warm water with half a lemon squeezed into it is very beneficial to cleanse toxins and kick start your metabolism)

Next up- coffee!!! I drink approx 2 cups of black coffee per day. If my baby is up a lot in the night sometimes I will have a cup in the afternoon.

For breakfast I eat yogurt (either activia or liberte) with my favourite granola from Trader Joe’s. It is gluten free & has cranberries and almonds in it.

I try to have a few snacks between meals. Either an apple or banana or a piece of cheese.

For lunch my go to is rice cakes with almond butter, and carrot sticks & red pepper with hummus.

I love wraps you can make so many yummy meals in them. One of my favourite meals for supper is cooking chicken or beef wraps with rice, tomatoes and carrots. They are quick, and easy and delicious.

I also want to point out that it is okay to have treats! You have to allow yourself treats otherwise if you are having a bad day you binge on snacks. I am not perfect and have moments where I eat candy and the important thing to remember is not to beat yourself up about it. Forget about it and move on, try to make better choices tomorrow.

My husband Marc is my biggest cheerleader. Getting positive feedback from him and my friends has been the best motivator for me. We have been together for 16 years and his support has been awesome. He and I decided roughly 9 years ago that we were done with fast food. No more McDonalds/Burger King etc with the exception on Timmy’s, subway, Quiznos & Starbucks. We talk about breaking the streak one day, but neither of us has really wanted to yet.

Side note- I try not to drink juice my thinking is that I would rather eat my calories then drink them 😉

– Thea

We found this awesome photo of Thea after finishing the ChelanMan Triathlon in 2012 – Way to go Thea!
221470_10151962422230497_172144804_o

And we also have this beautiful photo of her and her daughter Teala just recently – Thanks again Thea

10389229_10154372131950151_407347706199039753_n (2)

Sister Act Fitness thanks Thea for her input on what helped her shed her baby weight and look forward to hearing about more of Thea’s accomplishments in the future.

Want to share your healthy life accomplishments? Message us on Facebook on our Page Sister Act Fitness

Are you already eating well and want to share some recipes/photos with us? We are on Instagram @sisteractfitness – hashtag #sisteractfitness so we can see what you are up to?

Have you mastered the art that is Twitter? We are getting there @sisteractfit

Xoxo,
Mel and Mo

Leave a Reply

