Keto Breakfast and Lunch 

Standard

Ever wonder what a keto work day looks like? This is what I consume on an average day at work. Now as most of you know I carb feed once a week (read about my way of eating here: https://sisteractfitness.wordpress.com/2014/07/17/another-narly-solution-to-my-battle-with-fat/ ) , I cut my gym training down a bit in an effort to correct my adrenal fatigue/hormone inbalance. This way of eating has worked well as I find it easy to stick with and although you would think eating whatever you want once a week is exciting, sometimes I don’t even want to cause I’m enjoying my flatter stomach more! The above picture is my food for work tomorrow. Before I leave the house I’ve been having a glass of warm water with a tbsp of apple cider vinegar. APV was suggested by my acupuncturist and I’m thankful for it, it’s appearing to help my digestion and is a quick cure for heartburn. Once I get to work I have my tablespoon of coconut oil melted in a cup of tea (or sometimes coffee) with a couple drops of liquid alcohol free stevia (I use the NOW brand). Coconut oil has been proven to increase energy and help your brain shift from its normal carb/glucose burning function for energy to burning fat/ketones for energy 🙂 YES PLEASE! I can usually coast from my coconut oil tea until about 9-10am when I would eat the pictured eggs and chicken thighs. Some people consider this a bit of a morning fast but I’m just considering it not forcing myself to eat at 7am when I’m not hungry. This way of eating has taught me that we burn fat in the mornings and carbs are known to stop that fat burning process as soon as they are consumed. This may be fascinating to those who eat oatmeal for breakfast everyday!!!! I dare you to swap your oatmeal for eggs and see if the scale budges! Or see if your energy doesn’t dip mid-morning 😉 Around 1pm I have lunch – tomorrow it’s tuna mixed with mayo over spinach with olives and artichoke hearts Mmmmmm. Overall the above food is approx 100g of protein, 80g of fat and approx 12g of carbs. I eat between 1800-2000 calories a day and am averaging a 0.3-1.0 pound loss per week. I’m still enjoying this way of eating and look forward to seeing more steady (yes slow and steady but a little patience never hurt anyone) results 🙂

Interested in a bit more information on Ketosis? http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/keto.htm

Interested in the exact way of eating I follow? Check out http://carbnite.com/

Want to calculate what your macros would look like if you tried a keto diet? http://keto-calculator.ankerl.com/

Let me know if you try it and of course let me know if you have any questions 🙂

Xoxo Mel

Like us on Facebook https://m.facebook.com/SisterActFitness

Follow us on Instagram @sisteractfitness

Follow us on Twitter @sisteractfit

Leave a Reply

