Coming out of hibernation

Standard

So it’s now April and the sun has decided to shine it’s glorious face on more than one occasion in the past few weeks and I’m loving it! However, I believe I am amongst a large group of people who aren’t quite ready physically to be throwing on last year’s shorts or heaven forbid a bikini. “They” say summer bodies are made in the winter but we all know that’s bullshit cause Christmas, New Years, hot chocolates and staying inside is what most people’s (or just mine) winter is all about. 

I’ll be the first to admit I put on a small “winter coat” this season and look forward to shedding it but as I learned today jumping into some hardcore plyo workouts after essentially having the last 3 weeks off from the gym due to what I’m labelling as “the worst super flu bug ever” is not a great idea. As most women (and men) know after a devastating leg workout it’s hard to do most daily functions that require your leg muscles the day or two after and holy hell (kind of an oxymoron now that I’m typing those words next to eachother for the first time) do my buns and quads hurt! 

The reason for this post is I want to make sure we focus on our positive self talk during this spring season. It’s easy to throw around negative words to describe ourselves when we are wiggling into last year’s board shorts but that’s not going to get us into said shorts any quicker or easier. Instead focus on small steps to slowly get back into the swing of things. Be grateful for the fun (and food) filled winter season and don’t beat yourself up. 

I’ve recently begun practicing more yoga every night before I go to bed and the first pose is to stand in front of the mirror and take 20 slow, confident, focused breaths – slow I can do, confident so so and the focus part I’m working on but I’m gaining strength in all 3 areas everytime I do it and for that I feel proud. I’m proud that in my 32 year on this earth my body still takes everything I throw at it.

So be gentle with yourself as we transition from hibernation to spring/summer – start slow – go walking outside again (known to be a good low impact fat burner that boosts mood and helps you sleep better), catch some rays, take deep breaths and know that last year’s summer clothes will fit, maybe not tomorrow but soon 😉 

Xoxo

Mel 

  

Leave a Reply

